Tax Lien Sale
The 2015 Treasurer's tax lien sale portfolio was sold November 13, 2015. This link of the Franklin County Tax Lien Final Sale List contains the properties that were included in the sale.
Tax Lien Sale
The purpose of the annual Tax Lien Sale is to collect the delinquent real estate taxes owed to the County's school districts, agencies and local governments.
Basic Overview of the Sale
Ohio Revised Code sections 5721.30 to 5721.43 permit the Franklin County Treasurer to collect delinquent real property taxes by selling tax-lien certificates in exchange for payment of the entire delinquency. All eligible tax-lien certificates are bundled together and sold as part of a single portfolio. The Treasurer's liens are transferred to the purchaser, who is entitled to recover the purchase price and accruing interest. Unlike other states, Ohio law does not provide for the sale of individual tax lien certificates or "over-the-counter" liens.
All Franklin County properties with delinquent taxes are eligible to be sold at the tax-lien certificate sale. To be eligible for the sale, the property may not already be set for a sheriff sale, be in bankruptcy, already have a tax contract, be tax exempt or have a pending tax exemption application.
Amounts due will include an administrative fee that increases from $100.00 in September, to $200.00 in October, and then $300.00 plus 6% interest on the sale date.
Prior to a tax-lien certificate being sold, the property owner will have received at least three to four tax bills that have remained unpaid and will also have received multiple notices about the delinquent taxes, including the upcoming certificate sale. In addition, the property owner and property location will have been published in the newspaper.
Additionally, the Treasurer typically sends a warning letter to delinquent property owners informing them about the potential sale of the lien certificate on their property. If taxes are not paid current or a payment plan arranged within the constraints identified in the warning letter, then a certified letter will be mailed to all delinquent property owners listed for inclusion in the sale.
In October, the Treasurer will publish in the Columbus Dispatch the property location addresses and names of those owners who have not taken the necessary steps to avoid having their property in the tax-lien certificate sale. This publication is required by Ohio law.
All payments on delinquent properties set to have liens sold in the tax-lien certificate sale are required to be paid with guaranteed funds (e.g., cash, money order, or certified/cashier's checks). For more information about payments, click on Tax Payer Information.
The tax-lien certificate sale is generally held during the Second week of November. For information about purchasing the tax-lien certificate portfolio, click on Buyer Information link.