Skip to main content

covid-19 response regarding
real estate property taxes

In an effort to assist Franklin County residents through the challenges of the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Franklin County Treasurer’s Office has moved the due date for our 2nd half real estate property tax collection 45 days from June 22, 2020 to August 5, 2020.  
It is our hope that this extension will assist taxpayers who are struggling financially during this unprecedented time.

Tax bills will become available beginning June 8, 2020. Taxpayers should receive their tax bill in the mail between June 16, 2020 and
June 19, 2020. Taxpayers who get their tax bill by email should receive the bill by June 9, 2020.  

The Franklin County Treasurer’s Office encourages residents concerned about paying their 2nd half real estate property taxes by the August 5th due date to:

Pay as much of your property taxes as you can by the August 5th due date.

If by the August 5th due date, you cannot pay your property taxes in full, you may start a delinquent tax monthly payment plan by calling the Franklin County Treasurer’s Delinquent Tax Department at 
(614) 525-3431.

Taxpayers who are currently on a budget or delinquent tax payment plan should call for their extended payment totals. For more information, please call: (614) 525-3438.

Tax bills not paid by August 5th will have 5% interest added to the total balance due that shows on the 2nd half tax bill. Tax bills not paid by
August 16th
 will have 10% interest added to the total balance due that shows on the 2nd half tax bill.

Due to Heartland Banks internal policy as a response to
COVID-19, Heartland Bank locations will not be accepting real estate property tax payments on behalf of the Franklin County Treasurer’s Office.

We strongly encourage payments to be made my mail at this time by sending your check to:  
Franklin County Treasurer
373 South High Street, 17th floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6306

Payments can also be made:
  • In the lobby drop box of the Franklin County Complex 
  • Online at Paying by e-check or direct ACH is free. You can also pay with a credit card for a service fee of 2.30% per transaction or a debit card for a flat fee of $3.50
  • At participating CheckFree Pay locations

Click here to see all payment options

The Franklin County Treasurer’s website has more information on property tax payments at

If you have any questions, please contact the Franklin County Treasurer’s Office Customer Service Department at (614) 525-3438.